Take 5 Bar Cookies

9 01 2009
I stole this pic from Cookie Madness. But mine looked like that!

I stole this pic from Cookie Madness. But mine looked like that!

First things first: I am OBSESSED with Take 5 bars. They are the greatest candy bar invention EVER. In case you are an asshole and do not know what delicious goodness goes into a Take 5 bar, let me enlighten you: Peanut butter, peanuts, caramel, PRETZELS, and covered in milk chocolate. A Jew for Jesus introduced them to me while I was pregnant and I find myself still craving them even though I am no longer growing a brain in my uterus. Elizabeth is an asshole (this is Lo, beeteedubs), and doesn’t like peanut butter in sweets (including the holy duo of chocolate and peanut butter), so I had to find a cookie recipe myself. GAWD. So after some light digging (thanks, Google!) I came across this recipe, from someone who came across this recipe from someone else. And so on. And so on. And so on. Anyhoodles, the only amendment I would make next time is to crush up some unsalted peanuts in the ol’ food processor and toss ’em in there. Enjoy, and please don’t call me to clean up the brains that will inevitably fall out of your head. (Which I thought would happen with my significant other and 2 year old, but instead they just ask for “Mo cookie?” PHEW.) (PS – this is from Cookie Madness.)

1 cup unsalted butter
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup dark corn syrup
3/4 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 Cups creamy peanut butter
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups chocolate chunks (your choice of intensity, just use good chocolate)

large double fisted handful of pretzel sticks lightly crushed (good and salty)

a big ol’ handful of unsalted peanuts, crushed up in the food processor*
soft caramels to melt and drizzle

Preheat oven to 325. Line baking sheets with parchment.
In medium bowl, cream together butter, sugars, corn syrup, baking soda, salt, and vanilla. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the peanut butter, beating until the mixture is light and fluffy. Stir in the flour. Mix in half of the chocolate and half of the pretzels (and the peanuts too!).

Drop dough by soup spoon full onto cookie sheets. Add 3 or 4 more chunks of chocolate on top and a few nice size pieces of pretzel so that they will show nicely when baked off.

Bake the cookies for 15 minutes, until they are lightly golden around the edges. Remove from the oven and cool on a cooling rack.

Melt the caramel in the microwave according to the directions on the bag. Or, be fancy and make your own. When the cookies are cool, drizzle with caramel. CONSUME.

Yield: approximately 40 cookies (which doesn’t sound like a lot but OMG, it so is.)

*I think I’m-a add this next time I make these because I’m a rebel who doesn’t like to follow the rules. That is a lie. I just think the cookies would be better with peanuts.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

