Spinach, Feta, and Onion Crustless Quiche

10 01 2009
Mine doesn't look like that. It's Nicole's from Baking Bites. I SWEAR I'm going to start taking my own pictures soon. Please don't hate me. Thank you and good day.

Mine doesn't look like that. It's Nicole's from Baking Bites. I SWEAR I'm going to start taking my own pictures soon. Please don't hate me. Thank you and good day.

Okay, I lovelovelove baking cupcakes, cakes, cookies, cobblers, and, apparently, lots of things that begin with the letter “C.” But I also dig on easy peasy dinners. Elizabeth sent this to me from Baking Bites, and I promptly stole it and have been enjoying it at least once a month. It’s suuuuuuper easy to make, and with the leftover egg yolks you can make the BEST CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES YOU HAVE EVER EATEN IN YOUR PATHETIC LIFE. I’ll post them soon, because, ZOMFGFORREALZ, they are delicious. Anyway, the beauty of this recipe is that you can add or subtract whatever you want. Elizabeth doesn’t like mushrooms, so whenever I see her I make this with shitloads of them, because I am not a nice person. But what’s important to note is to OHMYGOD, DO NOT EVER USE FAT FREE FETA. It bakes up ok, but the leftover winds up tasting like charred giraffe ass. Or what I imagine charred giraffe ass would taste like. AAAAAANNNNND it’s crustless, which means the flour and the baking powder make a nice little crust without it being a CRUSTY CRUST. So use plain ol’ empty pie tins. They’re wicked cheap! Anyway, thanks Baking Bites!

Crustless Spinach, Onion and Feta Quiche
1 medium onion, diced
6-oz fresh baby spinach (I use frozen, 9 or 10 oz, I think, which I defrost in the microwave and then burn myself draining)
1 red or yellow bell pepper, diced*
1/2 pkg. mushrooms, diced*
2 large eggs
2 large egg whites
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
pinch cayenne pepper
1 1/3 cups milk (low fat is fine)
1/2 cup feta cheese (low fat is NOT FINE, trust) (oh, and I probably use way more than 1/2 cup because I love cheese, even though I’m lactose intolerant.)

Preheat oven to 400F.
Lightly grease a 10-inch quiche/tart pan (or a pie plate)
In a medium frying pan, cook diced onion with a bit of vegetable oil (or cooking spray) over medium-high heat until translucent and tender. Add in fresh spinach and cook until just wilted. Set aside to cool for a few minutes
In a large mixing bowl, whisk together eggs, flour, baking powder and salt. Whisk in milk, then stir in spinach-onion mixture.
Pour quiche base into prepared pan. Top with feta cheese.
Bake for 25 minutes, or until center is set and the outside edge is golden brown.
Let set for 5 minutes, then slice and serve.

Serves 4.
salt and pepper, to taste

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

