A Conversation Between El and Lo Re: Lo’s Family and Harold Melvin & the Bluenotes

12 01 2009
Lauren: I just got finished telling Russell about my Uncle Jack.
That story is always a crowd pleaser.
Elizabeth: ?
Lauren: Oh.
I’ve told you about my great Uncle Jack. Grandpa D’s brother?
Who left [a state on the Atlantic seaboard] because he had a warrant out for his arrest?
And became a gigolo in Miami?
And then became a FL State Trooper?
Elizabeth: Hu-wha??
Lauren: Oh. Well, that’s basically the story.
How have I never told you this??
Elizabeth: Mmm, it is not ringing any bells.
Lauren: Crazy.
Elizabeth: I guess I am never going to know you
Because if I didn’t know you by now…
Lauren: THEN YOU WILL NEVERNEVERNEVER KNOW ME.
OOOOOHHHHHHOOOOHHHH
Elizabeth: ALL THE THINGS
THAT WE BEEN THROUGH
Lauren: Well, next time we’re either hanging out or hanging out with my fam, we’ll have to tell you the story.
Elizabeth: WITH PUPPETS?
Lauren: Dear god no!
Elizabeth: AND COSTUMES!?!
Lauren: His current wife looks like Jabba the Hut! [FACT]
Elizabeth: Make Big Easy [Lo’s son, who is 2] play that character
Lauren: HA!
Elizabeth: Basically, I want your family, mainly your father, to entertain me with a little vaudville-esqe act
BUT NO BLACK FACE
Unless it’s Big Easy
Lauren: Deal?
Elizabeth: You don’t sound very confident
I think your father should dress as an old-timey constable with a big curlicue mustachio
Just to amuse me
Lauren: Agreed!
Today is his birthday, you know.
Elizabeth: WHAT?
Lauren: He’s 187!
Yep.
Elizabeth: I thought he was older than that!
Lauren: Oh. That’s not a compliment.
Elizabeth: Hmmm
Actions

Information

One response

5 02 2009
Emily

Ol’ man river, Dat ol’ man river He mus’know sumpin’ But don’t say nuthin’, He jes’keeps rollin’ He keeps on rollin’ along

P.S. Your Uncle Jack story is one of my favorites. I tell it to everyone I know. My family is boring so I live vicariously through yours.

Leave a Reply

