No, But For Real, These Are the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies You Will EVER EAT

14 01 2009
This is what was left for me to eat. Sniff.

This is what was left for me to eat. Sniff.

These cookies will BLOW YOUR MIND. I brought them into my office once and people were mad at me for not making them again at the same time the next week. They look like Mrs. Field’s but taste approximately, oh, I don’t know, a gazillion times better (probably because your kitchen is [presumably] not located in a mall food court where the smells of Taco Bell, Abercrombie, and self-hatred mingle together to ruin any delectable chocolate-laden treat.) I got this recipe from my trusty and loyal friend, America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook, which has yet to steer me wrong in any regards (though I hold that my Betty Crocker buttermilk biscuit recipe is superior, but that is another post). At first I questioned their brazen use of melted butter and extra egg yolks (leftover from the divine Spinach, Onion, and Feta Crustless Quiche, mayhaps??), but was quickly put in my place after trying one of these. They are gigantic, soft on the inside, just a tetch crispy on the outside, and much like Sofia Loren or Jim Beam, they get better with age. My favorite thing to do is add some shredded coconut (I’m sure you could toast it, if you’re into all that. I don’t have the patience). The texture BLEW MY MIND. As you will notice, I did not steal a picture for this post. Instead, I chose to show you the end result of these fucking delicious cookies: THEY GONE, YO! So, enjoy and remember to never question anything ATK tells you to do because YOU ARE WRONG and THE MAN WITH THE BOW TIE IS RIGHT. Good day.

Big and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies (from America’s Test Kitchen)
3 1/3 cup a/p flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
16 tbl unsalted butter, melted & cooled (that’s 2 sticks, for those not in the know)
1 1/4 cup packed (duh) light brown sugar (or dark, if that’s all you have on hand)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 large egg yolks
1 tbl vanilla extract
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (that’s 1 12-oz. bag, for those not in the know)
Any add-ins you find scrumptious – LIKE COCONUT.

Adjust the oven racks to upper and lower-middle positions and heat oven to 325 (note: I only do one sheet at a time here because my oven can be a jerk. If your oven is ALSO a jerk, please do the same.) Whisk flour, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl and set aside.

Beat the butter and sugars in a large bowl using an electric mixer on medium speed unitl combined, 1-2 minutes. Beat in the eggs, egg yolks, and vanilla until combined, about 30 seconds, scraping bowl and beaters as needed.

Reduce mixer speed to low and slowly mix in the flour mixture until combined, about 30 seconds. Mix in the chocolate chips (and whatever other goodies, like COCONUT) until combined.

Working with 1/4 cup of dough at a time (I use 1/8 cup and I get more cookies and they are still huge. But you just do you, boo.), roll the dough into balls and lay on 2 parchment paper-lined baking sheets abvout 2 1/2″ apart. Bake until edges are golden, but centers are still soft and puffy 17-20 minutes, rotating and switching baking sheets halfway through baking.

Let cookies cool on sheets for 10 minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely. OR SHOVE THEM INTO YOUR GAPING MAW IMMEDIATELY. Makes 20-24 large cookies

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 11 2009
Half-Assed Baking with the Dirtiest Sounding Name in Junk Food « Baking, Books, Booze

[…] it is the way to go. There was no doubt in my mind that these cookies would not compare to the ATK chocolate chip cookie recipe but would still be sinfully delicious in that “haha, I cheated” sort of way. The […]

31 01 2010
WTF, More Snow? Molasses Cookies Are the Order of the Day, Then. « Baking, Books, Booze

[…] to go it alone. I asked my Sig Ot what he was in the mood for, then blatantly ignored his pleas for chocolate chip cookies. I wanted molasses, what can I say. And I’m a huge bitch. (Srsly. Dude puts KETCHUP on his […]

Leave a Reply

