Black & White Cupcakes. Like Joe Piscopo & Eddie Murphy as Frank Sinatra & Stevie Wonder. But Different.

22 01 2009
img_1528So my kid turns 2 this weekend. And he still lives at home, mooching off of me like some schlub. Get a job, you ne’er-do-well! KIDDING. Sort of. Anyway, in addition to still having problems wrapping my mind around my little (giant) sweet (inadvertently violent) Bean, I’ve also decided to have a party for him. And by “for him,” I mean “for us,” so that we may day-drink with our friends and family (who can forget the show-stopping freestyle rap my mother did after 2 glasses of wine at his first birthday? Quite the wordsmith she is!) and celebrate that my kid is giant and old and probably should get a damn job. What a lazy bum! Kidding! Sort of. I wanted to make cupcakes, and since we’re expecting quite a few people, I wanted to make easy cupcakes. I’ll post the other 2 recipes later this week (Easy Yellow cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and Chocolate Peanut Butter cupcakes with peanut butter buttercream). But here’s my thing: I HATE FROSTING CUPCAKES. I love the end result, and I even have a fancy Wilton froster dealie, but I hate doing it. HATE. IT. So instead of making more cream cheese frosting than would fit into my fridge, I’m going to halve that recipe and whip up the super-easy PB buttercream and make El do it when she comes to my house! Oh, and also make these delicious little morsels I found courtesy of the lovely Jennifer at Bake or Break. The best part is that I don’t have to frost them! That is actually just a small bonus, because they are SOOOO FRIGGIN’ DELICIOUS. So go ahead and make them. You will be a better person because of it. I AM NOT LYING TO YOU. I would never lie to you. Not even a smidgen.
Black and White Cupcakes
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup plus 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup miniature chocolate chips
  • 1 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350°. Line 2 12-cup muffin tins with cupcake liners.

Beat cream cheese, egg, and 1/3 cup sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy (about 2 minutes). Stir in the chocolate chips. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine flour, 1 cup sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Make a well in the center, and add water, oil, vinegar, and vanilla. Mix just until blended.

Fill each muffin cup one-third full with the chocolate batter. Top with a spoonful of cream cheese mixture, until cups are about two-thirds full. Bake 22 to 28 minutes, until the tops spring back lightly when touched.

Cool in pans for 10 minutes. Remove to wire racks to cool completely. Jennifer says that this makes 24 cupcakes, but I call bullshit. It makes from 18-21.  Just so ya know.

Actions

Information

One response

27 01 2009
Julia

Does yo mama rap as good as you?? (ie- rendition of ‘Gin and Juice’ circa, oh, last week?)

I’m not so much for domestic things such as cooking and baking myself, but you kids sure are funny 🙂 You could make a convert out of me with your quick wit yet! Keep up the good work. And oh, congrats on birthday #2 🙂 That’s worth a little day-drink!

Leave a Reply

