Peanut Butter Cupcakes with OMG Peanut Butter Buttercream. And Other Repetitive Things.

26 01 2009
Happiness! And yes, those ARE awesome robot cupcake liners. Thanks, Kroger!

Happiness! And yes, those ARE awesome robot cupcake liners. Thanks, Kroger!

So we had the swingin’ second birthday party on Saturday, and it was quite a success. Except people came on time, which never happens so I didn’t have the chicken ready until late, but WHATEVER. QUIT JUDGING ME. As I mentioned before, I made 3 different types of cupcakes (nearly 6 dozen for those who are counting). I’m going to be honest – the vanilla ones? With the vanilla cream cheese frosting? I didn’t really like them. ATK done steered me wrong! Damn you, ATK! Damn you and your bowties! (Note: the cream cheese frosting was delish.) Luckily, everyone raved about the other 2 kinds. This little gem I found on Natalie’s Bake & Destroy site. She mentions something about them being a household favorite, and the frosting making her roll around on the floor with glee. SHE IS NOT LYING PEOPLE. These cupcakes are amazing. I even fucked up and forgot to put the chocolate chips in (maybe because I had a few glasses of champers. QUIT JUDGING ME.) and they still tasted amazing, thanks in no small part to the Peanut Butter Buttercream, which is light, fluffy, sweet, and, uh, peanut buttery. Oh, and even if you are normally opposed to chunky peanut butter, which I totally am, you HAVE TO use it here (in the cupcakes, not the frosting). I am usually not only opposed to just peanuts, but any sort of nuts in my food [snicker]. Trust, the chunky PB is, like Salt ‘n’ Pepa, Very Necessary. So go and enjoy these tasty little nuggets of goodness, please. And if you have a really good yellow cupcake recipe, let me know. So far I’ve tried Billy’s Vanilla Vanilla (not impressed with the texture) and America’s Test Kitchen’s Easy Yellow Cupcakes and both of them made my soul cry a little.

Peanut Butter Cupcakes

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  1. In a small bowl, mix together flour cocoa powder, baking powder and salt.
  2. In a bowl, beat together granulated and brown sugars and butter until well combined. Add peanut butter, beating until smooth. Beat in egg and vanilla until mixture is smooth. Alternately beat in flour mixture and milk, making three additions of flour mixture and two of milk, beating until until smooth. Stir in chocolate chips.
  3. Scoop batter into prepared pan. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes or until tops spring back when lightly touched. Let cool completely on a rack.
Makes 1 dozen, but when doubled, oddly, makes more than 2 dozen. It makes about 27. I don’t get it either.
Peanut Butter Buttercream

*2 cups confectioner’s sugar
* 1/2 cup unsalted butter at room temperature
* pinch salt
* 1/2 creamy peanut butter
* 2 Tbs milk

Beat together sugar, butter and salt until creamy. Add peanut butter, beating well. Add milk and beat until smooth and creamy.

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 01 2009
limeandlemon

Sounds soo delicious … Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

29 01 2009
hberry

Oh man, I’ve been waiting for you to put this damn recipe up here! They were delicous and once I found your secret stash of backup cupcakes in the cute cupcake caddy I no longer felt guilty about eating 3 of them! In fact, I think I would give my left arm for one right now!! These def beat out the choc/cream cheese cupcakes and honestly, I didn’t feel like trying the “Shrek Redux” cupcakes as your father so affectionately called them, after watching Bean shove about 3 into his mouth and proceed to spread green icing everywhere. Good times though!

3 03 2009
hberry

Made ’em finally. SO GOOD! Insta-cavity…. need more milk! Although I am not good with the decorator tip and my icing def looked like turds.

7 11 2009
OMG, The Unthinkable Has Happened… « Baking, Books, Booze

[…] and some chocolate fudge filling (recipe to follow – keep your damn pants on!) and some peanut butter buttercream and went to Happy Town. Now, I fiddled with the cupcake recipe, subbing 3/4 cup brown sugar for the […]

Leave a Reply

