Come Mr. Tally-Man, Tally me – HEY! Where’s My Goddamn Banana??

7 02 2009
Contrary to popular belief, this shit was NOT bananas.

Contrary to popular belief, this shit was NOT bananas.

I was SO STOKED for these cupcakes. Banana Butterscotch from the Cupcakes! book by Elinor Klivans. I love banana, I love butterscotch. A melding of two delicious flavors, yes? Well, actually, not so much. Don’t get me wrong, these cupcakes are good. I am, however, fairly certain that all of my teeth fell out of my head. Just now! They’re reeeeeaaalllllllllllly sweet. And that is an understatement. And the banana!? TOTALLY LOST TO THE BUTTERSCOTCH. I’m going to have to find a way to improve upon this recipe. When I do, I’ll post my revised version. It was just…disappointing. Not, like, Chinese Democracy disappointing. More like…Foo Fighters disappointing (I hold that for the caliber of musicians that are in that band, the music should be a lot more interesting. You won’t change my mind, so don’t bother.) I think I need to up the banana quotient by another banana and lay off about 1/4 cup of sugar. The frosting is good, but would taste a lot better if the banana flavor were more apparent in the cupcakes. You can’t see me right now, but I’m making a frownie-face. I hate when my baking fails me. Also, I am shaking my fist at Elinor Klivans, even though I’m sure she’s perfectly nice and didn’t mean to ruin my Saturday night. Whatever. I’ll just pawn them off on my dad tomorrow. That guy loves him some sugar!

Banana Butterscotch Cupcakes aka DISAPPOINTMENT CAKES

  • 1 1/4 cups AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 6 Tbl. unsalted butter (3/4 stick), room temp.
  • 1 cup sugar (try it with 3/4 & let me know what happens)
  • 2 med. bananas, broken into 1″ pieces
  • 2 lg. eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk (any fat content)
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips (again, try 3/4 cup here. JUST DO IT.)
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line 12 muffin tin cups with paper liners.
  2. Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a medium bowl and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until blended and creamy, about 2 minutes. Add banana pieces, mixing til blended. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well in between each addition. Add vanilla and beat for 1 minute.
  4. On low speed, add half of the flour mixture, mixing just to incorporate it. Mix in the buttermilk and then mix in the remaining flour mixture until it is incorporated. Stir in the butterscotch chips.
  5. Fill each paper liner with a scant 1/3 cup of batter. Bake about 25 minutes (in my oven, they probably could have been done in 23). Cool for 10 minutes in the pan on a wire rack.
  6. Remove cupcakes from pan onto wire rack. Eat and feel funny about not tasting any of the banana. Make frownie-face, and decide to post on blog anyway.

Butterscotch Frosting That Will Make Your Teeth Turn to Dust

  • 1/4 cup half and half
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temp.
  • 1 cup powdered sugar (next time, this will become 3/4 cup)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  1. In a medium saucepan, heat the half and half and brown sugar over low heat, stirring often, until sugar melts. Increase the heat to medium-high, bring to a boil, and boil fro 1 minute, stirring constantly. Pour into small bowl and refrigerate until cool (mine took about 30 minutes).
  2. In a large bowl, beat butter and powdered sugar on low speed until smoothly blended (this could take a couple of minutes). Add vanilla and brown sugar mixture and beat on medium speed until smooth and creamy, about 1 minute.
  3. Use a small spatula to spread the frosting. This shit is NOT pipe-able, fancy decorators. Eat, feel super-bad now about the lack of banana, and vow to do better next time. YOU MUST!!
Actions

Information

2 responses

24 11 2009
Anne

you’re right on the money: i make these with less sugar and LOTS more (really RIPE) banana (plus a few other tweaks, but those two are the key ones). when you’re not so pissed at EK, they are worth trying again with the recipe adjusted — really.

24 11 2009
Lo

Thanks Anne! I will definitely keep that in mind for next time. BTW, I am totally over it, as EK has such excellent other cupcakes, I can’t stay mad at her for long!

Leave a Reply

