St. Patty’s Day Booze Cake (El Bakes!!)

17 03 2009
st-pats-cake

It's not green, but it is filled with alcohol!

I love St. Patrick’s Day.  I love bagpipes and leprechauns and parades.  Mainly, though, I love drinking.  I enjoy drinking a Killian’s and singing “Danny Boy” and wearing my “Irish Moms Are The Best” t-shirt that I bought at thrift store 13 years ago.  I like drinking an Irish coffee and wearing a shamrock hat and wishing I was a redhead.   I’m marginally Irish and I’ll pinch you if you aren’t wearing green on March 17.

I’m also a big fan of holiday baking – I like making seasonally appropriate desserts, complete with decorations.   I find something comforting in marking time with delicious foods.  So, with St. Patty’s coming up, I could think of nothing better than the Chocolate Bourbon Cake listed on Simply Recipes.  And when a good friend who recently started writing her own food column said she was trying to figure out a post, I suggested we bake together – at her house, which has a dishwasher.

Luckily I asked about a mixer before I went over.  I didn’t ask about a sifter because I wasn’t originally planning on doing the powdered sugar.  But, while the cake was in the oven, Kona became worried that the alcohol didn’t make it Irish enough, so I MacGuyvered (MacGrubered?) some shamrock stencils with wax paper and we used a cheese grater as the sifter.  And it looked fantastic given our limited resources and the fact that we were slightly intoxicated at this point.

Not only is this a boozy dessert, you can totally drink while you’re making it.  There weren’t a lot of steps, nothing was super complicated or required a ton of concentration.  One small tip: USE THE BIGGEST MIXING BOWL IN YOUR KITCHEN.  This makes a ton of mousse-like batter and I was totally unprepared.   It has a really long baking time, so make sure you take that into account.  It worked out perfectly for us – Kona’s SigOt made us dinner as the cake cooled and we drank some more.

This cake came out really good and really frickin’ boozy.  I think that it needed to bake a little bit longer, the inside seemed especially strong and I have a feeling it didn’t have long enough for the alcohol to cook off.   The recipe called for more whiskey to be sprinkled on the cake as it cools, I think it would have been overkill.  The texture and density reminded me of flourless chocolate cake, all you’re going to need is a small slice.  And a designated driver.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

