At Least I’m Consistent in My Inconsistency.

19 03 2009
I dunno. This is what I got when I Googled "biscuit." It's appropriate.

I dunno. This is what I got when I Googled "biscuit." It's appropriate.

Sorry El has been bearing the brunt of the burden. I have no real excuse for not posting other than I am very, very lazy. BUT. Tomorrow I get all my wisdom teefs cut out mah head, so I figured I’d post since I’ll be in a Vicodin-induced stupor for at least a day. Several years, if my dreams of becoming Judy Garland come true…Anyhoo, every weekend, pretty much, I make biscuits from scratch. Not Bisquick-from-scratch, like, for real from scratch. And you know what? It’s NOT HARD. Big Easy LOOOOOOOOVES them, and actually got mad at his dad last week because his dad is kind of kitchen-retarded and said he couldn’t make biscuits. This set Big Easy OFF and he proceeded to have a GIANT MELTDOWN. To make up for it, I made biscuits on Saturday and all was right with the world. My favorite recipe thus far comes not from the ATK Family Cookbook, shockingly, but from my first cookbook ever – Betty Crocker. You cannot fuck with these biscuits. They’re a cinch to make and take only 10 minutes in the oven. Take ’em out, slather ’em in butter and honey, put some tea on, and enjoy yo’selves, fools! This shit is good! There’s a buttermilk variation on this recipe, but honestly – I just prefer the regular ol’ milk version. So no excuses this weekend – make some goddamn biscuits already!

Betty Crocker’s Baking Powder Biscuits

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 Tbl sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup shortening (I use the Crisco in bar form – less mess!)
  • 3/4 cup milk
  1. Heat oven to 450. (Yes, really.)
  2. Whisk (important for fluffy biscuits, I swear) flour, sugar, baking powder, & salt in medium bowl. Cut in shortening with a pastry blender (you can find this at your grocery store for less than $5 – trust me, it’s awesome) or criss-crossed knives until mixture looks like fine crumbs. Stir in milk until dough leaves sides of the bowl (dough will be sticky).
  3. Place dough on lightly floured surface. Knead lightly between 10-15 times. Roll or pat to about 1/2″ thick. Cut with 2″-2 1/4″ round cutter. Place on ungreased cookie sheet about 1″ apart for crusty sides, touching for soft sides.
  4. Bake 10-12 minutes, rotating once, until golden brown. Serve warm, DUH.

Note: The recipe says it makes 12 biscuits, but it is full of LIES. My cutter is pretty big and it makes about 7-8 biscuits, but I still bake for about 10 min. So…just keep that in mind. I like giant biscuits. QUIT JUDGING ME.

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 03 2009
howtoeatacupcake

I wonder if this is the same recipe in the Betty Crocker book I have. I forgot what it’s called, but I picked it up at like TJ Maxx (or some place like it) for like $5. I’ll check. I’m gonna make these! 😀

10 01 2010
Look’s Like We Made It « Baking, Books, Booze

[…] this by far – apparently people really like Gordon Lightfoot.  We’ve shared some of our favorite recipes, biggest failures, secret shames, and ever increasing insanity.  We’ve laughed and […]

Leave a Reply

