Red Velvet and Rock of Love Reunion Rabid Raccoons Rigatoni. SHUT UP. I LIKE ALLITERATION.

24 04 2009
Sorry it's so dark. Apparently Bret Michaels' weave may light up my life, but it doesn't light up my living room.

Sorry it's so dark. Apparently Bret Michaels' weave may light up my life, but it doesn't light up my living room.

So, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m baking 15 dozen cupcakes for a friend’s wedding coming up in June because I am an idiot. We’re working out the details, but so far I know she wants one of the three sets of cupcakes to be Red Velvet with Cream Cheese Frosting. Lucky for her, this is one of my favorite things EVER. My PMS craving could not be quelled last night because it would have taken too long to make Red Velvet Cheesecake, which led to my genius idea of making these little gems under the guise of  “experimenting” with “different” frosting “techniques.” Ahem. It worked out well, I baked during My Name is Earl and Parks and Recreation, they cooled during the Office and 30 Rock. And then I realized the RoLB reunion was on, so I brought the bowl of frosting and my fancy Wilton icing-dealie in the living room for a silicone and tequila extravaganza. Anyway, I got this recipe from Natalie at Bake & Destroy (check out her rad new site – it’s niiiiiice), and she got it from Paula Deen. I DID have to upgrade the amount of cocoa – one teaspoon was not enough! But these are delicious, and they’re easy. So get to bakin’, you dummies! (Find my cream cheese frosting recipe here.)

 

Red Velvet Cupcakes (makes 12)

  • 1 1/4 cup AP flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 heaping Tbl. unsweetened cocoa
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (I used powdered)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp. white vinegar (I used cider because I’m a rebel. And out of white vinegar.)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (I probably used more than this)
  • 1 Tbl. red food coloring
  1. Preheat oven to 350 & line a cupcake pan with liners. Preferably with robots on them.
  2. In a medium bowl, sift (or whisk because you’re me and you don’t have a sifter) all the dry ingredients. Even the sugar. No, I’m not fucking with you.
  3. With an electric mixer, mix together all the wet ingredients.
  4. Slowly pour the dry ingredients into the wet and mixmixmix – you can’t really overmix this recipe because of the glorious vegetable oil. Make sure it’s niiiiiiice and smooth.
  5. Pour evenly into prepared liners and bake for 20 – 22 minutes. Don’t forget to rotate because your oven is a jerk!
  6. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then pop them suckers out and let them cool on a wire rack. Slap some cream cheese frosting on there and EAT THEM SUCKERS.
Actions

Information

One response

29 04 2009
Julia

A word to the wise- don’t mix too much alcohol with red velvet cupcakes. My roommate learned that the hard way when we thought she was puking up blood later that evening.

And don’t worry, Lo. I love alliteration too! Just not clever enough to write anything using such a device write now 🙂

Leave a Reply

