Molly Ringwald, Is That You??

26 05 2009
Caroline talks to me softly sometimes.....BLAINE? His name is BLAINE??

Caroline talks to me softly sometimes.....BLAINE? His name is BLAINE??

(Hint: It’s not.) No, you silly geese! It’s these bee-yoo-tee-ful cupcakes I made for my cookout I had on Sunday! The cupcake is your basic chocolate recipe. Whatever your favorite one is will do. But the icing – the ICING. My dad used to call it Marshmallow Frosting when I was little. But when I was 6, I didn’t appreciate the amazing amazingness of this frosting and would always want Duncan Hines Cream Cheese Frosting from the can with devil’s food cake. (I also preferred Chef Boyardee to any other food and thought Dave Coulier was the be-all-end-all of comedians. SHUT UP.) Ahem. Anyway, many years later, I started to appreciate the goodness that is 7 Minute Frosting, especially when I realized it would be a perfect topper for some S’more cupcakes I made for my sister’s birthday.  Because HELLO! It tastes like marshmallows! I’m sure you could put it with any kind of cupcakes your little black hearts desire, but you haven’t LIVED until you’ve tried this with some badass chocolate cupcakes. A couple of tips: make sure there are NO YOLKS in the egg whites. Also, make sure the bowl you’re working with is spinky-spanky clean. If there is ANY oil left in there, it will totally fuck up your whole jive and you’ll have to toss out that batch and start all over again.  So go on and git ta bakin’! (But seriously, pay attention to me!)

Seven Minute Frosting (adapted from America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook – you bettah wreck-uh-nize!)

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 large egg whites (NO YOLKS)
  • 6 Tbl. cold water
  • 1 1/2 Tbl. light corn syrup
  • 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar
  • pinch salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  1. Bring a saucepan with about 2-3″ of water to a boil and lower to a simmer.
  2. Combine first 6 ingredients in a bowl to be placed over the saucepan so it is not touching the water. Start beating mixture on high with a handheld mixer (you remember those, right?) until it has quadrupled in size and starts to become shiny. This will take about (ready??) SEVEN MINUTES! (Whoa, did I just blow your mind?!)
  3. Remove bowl from saucepan, add vanilla (and food coloring if you wanna be fancy). Continue to beat on high for another 2 minutes. Use immediately!

This makes enough to frost exactly 3 dozen cupcakes and maybe a little bit more to lick the bowl.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

