Little Bee by Chris Cleave

16 06 2009

bee-thumbWe don’t want to tell you what happens in this book.  It is a truly special story and we don’t want to spoil it.  Nevertheless, you need to know enough to buy it, so we will just say this:  This is the story of two women.  Their lives collide one fateful day, and one of them has to make a terrible choice, the kind of choice we hope you never have to face.  Two years later, they meet again – the story starts there…

This is the blurb on the flap in my new favorite book ever written that everyone must drop everything right now and start reading because OMG I don’t know that I’ve ever read anything better.  Seriously, get this book – you will not regret it.  And, I’m not going to tell you what it’s about, it matters – but, for reals – this book is so fantastically written it could be about anything (almost) and I’d still contemplate buying a case and handing them out to everyone I know.  This book grabbed my face and demanded my love and attention from the first sentence, but it was this paragraph that made my heart soar into the heavens:

On the girl’s brown legs there were many small white scars.  I was thinking, Do those scars cover the whole of you, like the stars and the moons on your dress?  I thought that would be pretty too, and I ask you right here please to agree with me that a scar is never ugly.  That is what the scar makers want us to think.  But you and I, we must make an agreement to defy them.  We must see all scars as beauty.  Okay?  This will be our secret.  Because, take it from me, a scar does not form on the dying.  A scar means, I survived.

I reread that probably 10 times – mesmerized, infatuated, buttcrazy in love – a scar does not form on the dying – YES.  So, seriously, just go and read this.  As soon as you can.  And if you don’t love it…well, I hope I never see you face to face because it means you are an evil cyborg and I’d have to rid the earth of you.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

