This Shit is Bananas B-A-N-well, you get the point.

16 06 2009
Is that a banana in your...? Oh, it is. Nevermind.

Is that a banana in your...? Oh, it is. Nevermind.

I KNOW, I KNOW. I’ve been NEGLIGENT. But I have been BUSY. With THINGS. Like baking nearly 200 cupcakes for my friend’s wedding. And being a mom. And getting a cute haircut. And having cookouts. Well, A cookout. Whatever, I’m busy. ANYHOODLES, so the day I got back from my friend’s wedding, I was like I NEVER WANT TO SEE CUPCAKES EVER AGAIN. So I baked some banana bread because it is COMFORTING. And easy. And warm. And so yummy. And you can add whatever you want to it, so long as you just do you, boo! Personally, I’m fond of chocolate chips. Some people (jerks) are fond of walnuts. You will never find nuts in my baking (hehehehehe). Unless it’s in my chocolate peanut butter cupcakes, or the Take 5 Bar Cookies. But those are DIFFERENT because they involve peanut butter. Or, as my son calls it, peeduh buddah. There exists somewhere (I believe on Bake & Destroy) a recipe for peanut butter banana bread, and while delicious, it just wasn’t banana-y enough for me (remember the banana cupcake debacle? ME TOO. I love bananas! I’m BANANAS for them! HAHAHAHA! I slay me.) So if you want to spend an awesome quiet evening at home, this banana bread is the perfect way to do it. Especially if you’re alone, because then no one can steal any fresh-out-da-oven slices. Mmm…banana bread…

Banana Bread (adapted from the ATK Family Baking Book)

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 large very ripe bananas (MUST BE RIPE!!), mashed
  • 6 Tbl. unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup yogurt (low fat or regular – no non-fat!) OR sour cream
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • whatever you add-ins are (trust me – chocolate chips. DO IT.)
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9×5 loaf pan.
  2. Whisk dry ingredients together (yes, the sugar is dry).
  3. In your mixer (if you’re lazy like me, which I assume you are if you’re reading this blog), mix the bananas, butter, eggs, yogurt, and vanilla.
  4. Gently fold this wet mixture into the whisked dry ingredients. DO. NOT. OVERMIX. If you do, the world will implode and you will be left with awful, gummy banana bread.  Oh, mix your add-ins here too. BUT NOT TOO MUCH.
  5. Scrape the batter into the greased pan and bake for about 50-55 minutes, rotating once. Let it cool in the pan for 10 minutes and then dig right in. Ignore any instructions to wait until it cools. This would be foolish like Ashanti. Git that warm banana bread in yo’ belly! You earned it! Fool!
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

