Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah

4 11 2009

firefly-laneI am one of the most emotional people ever.  If someone else is crying, there is a really good chance I’m going to end up crying as well.  I cried at the end of So You Think You Can Dance last night, and I couldn’t even stand Phillip, but he started talking about his dad that just passed away, and then Cat was all teary during the outro, and the next thing I know, I’m sniffling.  On the opposite end of the spectrum is my sister – the least likely person to cry ever – whose personal beliefs are that feelings belong on the inside and tears are a sign of weakness.  So, when she gave me a book recently and told me that I had to read it because it made her cry?  Oh, I was on that rull fast.

So, Firefly Lane, oh, what can I say.  I started crying about 50 pages in and by the time I finished the book, my eyes were so puffy I looked like a cartoon alcoholic.  It is the story of two opposite girls that become best friends and the life they end up sharing.  Tully is gorgeous and oozes charisma, but being abandoned by her drug addict mother has left her insecure.  Kate is a nice normal girl who finds herself friendless in that awkward middle school shift that can happen when everyone around you throws off childhood before you’re ready.  Tully moves across the street from Kate and they pair up, finding what they need in their opposite.

Of course, life happens and the girls change and grow and fight and reconcile and become women with careers and loves and through it all they have one another.  Until one day, they don’t.  All of the sudden, they aren’t best friends anymore – but life goes on.  And now they have to adapt to life without their constant companion.  This is as much as I’m going to say, and is what is revealed in the first two pages (so I’m not being an ass – calm yourself).

Now, Firefly Lane isn’t groundbreaking, it wasn’t a revelation, and there has been more than one movie with the same basic story.  But, man, Kristin Hannah does a freaking fantastic job of sucking you into Tully and Kate’s world and taking you through all of those emotions.  Which is good, because if she was a worse writer it would feel like cheap manipulation.  But, for me, so much of it rang true, even just the insecurities over little things, make-up or haircuts, or the comfort that can come from listening to a favorite song with a friend.  Basically, if you’re at one of those times when you need a big ol’ emotional cry fest, and you don’t feel like watching The Notebook again, grab this book and let the tears flow.  Just be prepared for some serious swollen eyes and a chapped nose.
Actions

Information

2 responses

4 11 2009
Linda

I read this book a few months ago and I agree. I was pretty teary at the end.

10 01 2010
Look’s Like We Made It « Baking, Books, Booze

[…] recipes, biggest failures, secret shames, and ever increasing insanity.  We’ve laughed and cried and consumed more sugar and alcohol than any rational person should.  And even though I’m […]

Leave a Reply

