OMG, The Unthinkable Has Happened…

7 11 2009
IMG_1851

Just a plain, unsuspecting cupcake...

IMG_1855

...With a delicious fudgy center! I almost said something here about my cupcake wearing a trenchcoat, but that's weird...

…I’m sick of making banana bread. I KNOW, I KNOW. Also, there are the four horseman and locusts and an alleged remake of Drop Dead Fred starring fucking Russell Brand. I just…you know? I make banana bread ALL THE TIME. So I had to figure out something different. I Googled “banana recipes” but they kept talkin’ all this crazy talk about flambe and Bananas Foster. I was thinking a little more down-home. So in a fit of GENIUS, I took this cupcake recipe (sans chocolate chips) and some chocolate fudge filling (recipe to follow – keep your damn pants on!) and some peanut butter buttercream and went to Happy Town. Now, I fiddled with the cupcake recipe, subbing 3/4 cup brown sugar for the white. This was, in a word, stupid. They came out more muffin-y than cupcake-y, and while still delicious, when I make these again (which will be soon because I have half a recipe of the goddamn fudge filling left) I am definitely not messing with the sugar. NO SIR. The flavors meld together deliciously, the cupcakes are a snap to bake, you can make the fudge filling while the cupcakes are baking, and assemble it all while watching Community on NBC (which, are you watching this? It is fucking hilarious. Joel McHale needs to be my B4L [Bestie 3 Lyfe]). Now go make these before your period gets out of control. NOT TO SAY MINE DID. (It did and that’s kind of why I made these.) (TMI? My bad. I thought we were friends.)

 

Easy Chocolate Fudge Filling

  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 Tbl. butter
  • 1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (or 9 oz. fancy semisweet chocolate bar cut into easily meltable chunks)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla

Melt the butter into the cream in a medium saucepan over medium or medium high heat. Let it form tiny bubbles but don’t let it boil! Remove the pan from the heat and add the chocolate, stirring contantly. When the chocolate has melted completely, add the vanilla. You can wait till it’s cool, but I prefer to fill the cupcakes when it’s still warm and let it harden up that way. But I am not here to run your life. This shit stays good in the fridge for 2 weeks, so you can dig in with a spoon whenever you please!

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 11 2009
Kona

What the hell are you talking about? How do you get the fudge IN the cupcake????

7 11 2009
Lo

Oh. Seriously? You cut a little cone out of the top and plop the fudge in. My bad, I forgot I should maybe explain that. Or maybe I just should have told you “magic,” as in Magic Middles, the greatest of all supermarket cookies.

Leave a Reply

