Sometimes I Eat Like a 5 Year Old.

17 11 2009

Well, Lo. It's an EXCELLENT blue cupcake. Congratulations! You passed the first grade. That's QUACKTASTIC!

And I’m okay with that. Look, El and I spend our days perusing our fancy food blogs, with their roux and their gruyere and their souffles and other fancy French-derived cooking and baking terms. We send each other the ones that stand out, with pipe dreams of actually making gnocchi from scratch and sauce made from the tomatoes we’ve grown, topped with parmesan from fancy Italian cows who ride on motorbikes and say “Ciao!”. Of course, we usually wind up getting a little Stumbelina instead and eating, like, cheese fries or something. I’m surrounded at this time of year by beautiful looking cakes and pies, golden turkeys, and even turnips turned into some sort of gourmet meal. SO PLEASE EXCUSE ME FOR MAKING BLUE VANILLA CUPCAKES AND FROSTING THEM WITH THE FROSTING OF CHOICE FOR FIRST GRADERS. Oh, and filling them with chocolate because there’s no better way to spend a Monday night while watching the ridiculousness of One Tree Hill. I used this cupcake recipe along with this filling and the easiest frosting recipe in the world (which I helpfully listed below Chad Michael Murray’s furrowed brows and obese forehead). I asked my kid what color he wanted his cupcakes to be. He said green, and I said, “HAHAHA, too bad dummy, we’re out of green dye!” And then he said blue, so I said, “Okay.” And his mind was blown to have BLUE cupcakes. And then his dad got mad at me today because he was bouncing off the walls after eating one (and because he bounces off the walls anyway). So this holiday season, remember: There’s a time and a place to be fancy. Monday nights in your house watching One Tree Hill and Gossip Girl is not that time, nor that place.

Oh, CMM. How we miss your naturally furrowed brows in Tree Hill.

Really Fucking Easy Vanilla Frosting (for 12)

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temp
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • splash vanilla
  • 2-3 Tbsp. milk or cream or half & half or some such substance

Really? You need me to tell you what to do? FINE. Mix together the ingredients til it’s fluffy. Frost cupcakes. The end.

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 11 2009
Rex

Somehow ran across your blog while searching some Gordon Lightfoot stuff on his birthday Tuesday (?)…your blog is friggin hilarious (if you know what I mean by that…I’m sure you do).

Then I saw the blue cupcake and thought to myself how QUAKTASTIC it was only to read your comment about your own cupcake beauty….can’t stop laughing about mini pigs let alone quaktastic cupcakes…are you kidding me right now? I linked you to my secondary blog….check us out if you can.

thanks for the good laughs

Rex http://rhetoricallyserious.blogspot.com/

19 11 2009
elandlo

We get a lot of Gordon Lightfoot traffic (get it? Foot traffic???) – thanks for sticking around!

19 11 2009
Rex

I hope to stick around a bit longer and aquire some of the wit! Good stuff indeed!

Leave a Reply

