What a Delicious Weekend…and it Ain’t Even Turkey Day Yet.

22 11 2009

Thanks, zazzle.com! This badge represents me when looking at my blogroll.

HOLY SHIT, YOU GUYS. I make good food sometimes. Yesterday, I needed to assemble a test panel for the pumpkin cheesecake I was planning on making for T-Day (which is in T-minus 4 days! SQUEE!). So I did. And the results were pure ambrosia, my friends (note: when saying “ambrosia” here, you have to roll your rrr’s, like a posh old-timey British man would. Also, look into wearing a monocle.) It was light, it was spicy, but best of all: IT WAS SOOOO EASY. I was very pleasantly surprised. I did, of course, up the spice quotient, and I would, for next time, definitely look into using the longer bake times because it kinda sank in the middle, but that was just more room for the frosting. Huzzah!

 

Sloooooooooow jamz for biscuit eatin'.

 

So yay for that. This morning I decided to make my new favorite biscuit recipe, from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours. It’s a super-easy sweet cream biscuit, which means that the heavy cream stands in for both the fat and the milk. Well, the recipe calls for 1-1/4 cups cream and you usually need a twee bit more than 1 cup. Of course, me being me, I failed to check how much cream I actually had before starting this endeavor. I had precisely 1 cup. CRAP. As predicted, the dough was too dry. In all other circumstances, I would have had sour cream laying around but since I just made that blasted (fucking good) pumpkin cheesecake, I had no more. WHAT DO I DO??? I grabbed some whole milk and prayed to Jeebus that it would do the trick. OH. EM. GEE. The biscuits were perfect, in every way. They were light, they were fluffy, they were flaky. I’m posting for you the version of the recipe I used, with my tweaks and shit because I think my mixing method (uh, with a spoon) is better than the one in the book (sorry, Dorie!), where she says to toss with a fork. Try this recipe ASAP and wow your friends and family during the holidays this year. Or if you, you know, need to bribe them into helping you move or something. OH, also, my friend Katie had given me some delicious pear butter, which Big Easy and I slathered on said biscuits, but I don’t have the recipe. However, this one looks pretty good, if for no other reason than this site has never steered me wrong before. Or you could just find Katie and demand some from her. Anyway, Happy Breakfast!

 

Dorie’s Sweet Cream Biscuits That I Made Better

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 Tbl. baking powder
  • 1 Tbl. sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup cold heavy whipping cream
  • 2ish Tbl. cold whole milk
  1. Preheat oven to 425.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.
  3. Stir in cream, estimate how dry your dough is, then add milk accordingly.
  4. Cut with a biscuit cutter or nearby pint glass devoid of last night’s alcohol into the size of your choosing.
  5. Bake for 14-18 minutes.
  6. Slather with the toppings of your choice and weep with delight.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

