Making Candy, or Lo’s Epic Fail

21 12 2009

I had this big dream of making ADORABLE little Xmas packages filled with cookies and homemade Mexican-chocolate caramels for people I like.

Sumsing eez not right!

That is what happened. This is the recipe I used (plus cocoa, chipotle, cinnamon, and a touch of cumin). I followed the directions. I used a candy thermometer (which met its maker shortly after pouring the caramels into the pan for cooling). I’m thinking that I didn’t cook it for long enough, even though I cooked it til 244 F. They tasted delicious, but…well…you can see:

Caramels don't taste good with foil and wax paper stuck in them.

ARRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHH.

This is what I feel like. On the inside.

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 12 2009
Emily

HULK SMASH!

10 01 2010
Look’s Like We Made It « Baking, Books, Booze

[…] apparently people really like Gordon Lightfoot.  We’ve shared some of our favorite recipes, biggest failures, secret shames, and ever increasing insanity.  We’ve laughed and cried and consumed more […]

11 10 2010
Michael Beyer

Candy making is so much fun when it goes well, but so frustrating when it does not. I had a ball making these homemade caramel apples by Martha Stewart. Perfect for Halloween!
http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/classic-caramel-apples/

Leave a Reply

