Oh Yes I Did. Mexican Chocolate Cupcakes with Dulce de Leche Cream Cheese Frosting. SHWING!

17 01 2010

Hello, looooooooovaaaaah...

First and foremost, let’s talk about Mexican chocolate and how I’m obsessed with it. I’m obsessed with Mexican chocolate. THE END. HAHAHAHAHAHA! Kidding. But, for real. It’s so good. And I know the stuff I make isn’t technically Mexican chocolate, but my heart is in the right place because I add a bunch of cinnamon and a dash of chipotle and they are sooooo gooooooood. And, as of a few days ago, I am also obsessed with dulce de leche because it is friggin’ easy to make. And fucking delicious. But I had heard that it was kind of a gamble to create because it involved boiling a can of condensed milk, and if you know me, you know that I am the poster child for Murphy’s Law, so the can would inevitably explode, rendering me sightless and burned and I would be banished to the shed in the backyard where I would spend my days laughing maniacally and playing backgammon alone. Well, maybe not all that, but the thought of boiling a can of anything gave me a serious case of the heebie jeebies. So I turned to Google and learned from a variety of sources that I needn’t boil the can to make ddl. What I did was poured the can into a makeshift double boiler and let it hang out on medium-low heat for an hour to an hour and fifteen minutes. Let it cool, stick it in the fridge, and BAM! A bowl full of calorie laden deliciousness whenever you want to dip a spoon in there.

Anyway, I was making spaghetti and meatballs for my friend’s belated birthday gift. Even though it has nothing to do with Mexican chocolate, my friend is a Spanish teacher and I’m all about Mexican chocolate, so I selfishly decided on those cupcakes (which involve your favorite chocolate cupcake recipe plus 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and slightly less than a 1/2 teaspoon on chipotle, unless you’re feeling bold enough for more, but a little of that shit goes a looooong way). Then the problem was deciding which frosting to make. I’m bored with everything, and Ghiradelli wasn’t on sale at Kroger this week, so I would not be making Martha’s delightful dark chocolate frosting. Then I remembered I had an open can of condensed milk in my fridge that I needed to use so, uhDOI, dulce de leche is where it’s at. However, since I am totally impatient, the ddl wasn’t as spreadable as I had hoped. So I turned to Google again and found a recipe for dulce de leche cream cheese frosting. JACKPOT. Even better? All I had to do was take 5 ounces of cream cheese and mix it with about 1/2 a cup of dulce de leche. AND IT IS DIVINE. (And it frosted 18 cupcakes.)

Yep. Just like this.

I totally recommend this recipe anytime you want to impress people, or if you’re hosting a Mexican-themed dinner party, or if you’re totally premenstrual and need an excuse to have a bowl full of dulce de leche in your fridge. Now, what to do with the rest of it…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

