WTF, More Snow? Molasses Cookies Are the Order of the Day, Then.

31 01 2010

Hello? Is it...ME you're looking for? (yes. it is.)

So, the last time it snowed, I didn’t believe the local weather team. They are, after all, habitual liars. And so I was stuck with no milk, no bread, and most importantly, no booze. But THIS time…THIS time, I braved Kroger on Friday evening and stocked up on the essentials: champagne, flank steak for fajitas, and baking necessities. Saturday rolled around and it looked like this by noon:

Doo, doo, doo, lookin' out my back door. Into a snowpocalypse.

I’m a winter person. I love the cold, I love snow, I love BOOTS. This worked out for me. What didn’t work out was El’s visit to my house! She was down for a class and was supposed to take her test on Saturday morning and then stay the night so we could, you know, get kind of drunk and bake. But instead, I had to go it alone. I asked my Sig Ot what he was in the mood for, then blatantly ignored his pleas for chocolate chip cookies. I wanted molasses, what can I say. And I’m a huge bitch. (Srsly. Dude puts KETCHUP on his FLANK STEAK that has been marinated in LIME JUICE. His opinion is null and void.) Anyhoodles, here’s a delicious, simple molasses cookie recipe from our buddies at ATK. As usual, I amped up the spice numbers, but I’ll put down what they wrote. Also, be sure you spray the measuring cup with cooking spray before you pour the molasses in so it slides right out. (That’s what she said?) (No. Nevermind.)

Molasses Spice Cookies (from the ATK Family Cookbook)

  • 1/2 cup + 1/3 cup sugar (*I only used 1/3 cup to roll them in.)
  • 2 1/4 cup AP flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 12 Tbl. butter (1 1/2 sticks), softened
  • 1/3 cup dark brown sugar (I used light because it was all I had)
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup light or dark molasses
  1. Preheat oven to 375. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper (*you can only do 1 sheet at a time, otherwise the cookies don’t bake evenly. Put 1/2 cup sugar into a shallow dish for rolling.
  2. Whisk together dry ingredients through the salt.
  3. With a mixer on medium, cream butter, 1/3 cup sugar, and brown sugar together for about 3-6 minutes, until fluffy. Beat in yolk and vanilla. Beat in molasses, making sure you scrape down the bowl.
  4. Mix in the dry ingredients until combined, then scoop out 2 Tbl. of dough, rolling it in the reserved sugar and placing it on the lined cookie sheet.
  5. Bake for 10-12 minutes, rotating the ONE SINGLE PAN halfway through. Let set on cookie sheet for 5-10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack, or shove them into your gaping maw, happy that you didn’t listen to your Sig Ot about making no damn chocolate chip cookies. Happy snow days!
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

