Lo Has a Productive Weekend! (Co-starring Banana Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies)

11 04 2010

Banana bread! IN A COOKIE!!!

YOU GUYS. SERIOUSLY. I WIN AT THIS WEEKEND. Check it out: Friday night I got a good night’s sleep so I could wake up on Saturday, do some Jillian Michaels (level 3, ya’ll), tend to my squirrel-ravaged seedlings, go to the DMV (where my child was not a methamphetamine-riled hellion!), go grocery shopping, find SOMETHING to do with my old, black bananas (they were seriously black. And kind of shriveled. And the sugars may possibly have fermented.), and hang out with the Greek. Check on ALL COUNTS. Then today? TODAY??? I cleaned. For FIVE HOURS. I cleaned my fucking baseboards. BASE. BOARDS. And I finally cleaned off the desk in our guest room so I could have a spot for my laptop and printer! And I feel very accomplished, and those 4 tacos I ate for dinner don’t count for anything because I was SO PRODUCTIVE!!

Anyway, the point of this post was not to make you feel bad about yourself (I swear), but rather talk about these delightful little nuggets of yum I stumbled upon using ye olde Google. I’m SO TIRED of making banana bread (I’ve mentioned this before on this site). I love banana bread. If you offered me some right now, I’d eat the hell out of it. And talk about how fucking good it was. Because I LOVE banana bread. But I also get sick of it. Look, I love my kid too, but I don’t want his batshit crazy ass around me all the goddamn time. Life is about variety people. Deal with it. So, back to these cookies. I went cruisin’ the old internet for some recipes involving bananas. Then I got the wild hair to include oats in my search. Then I decided to just go balls-out and say, “HEY INTERNET! Fetch me your finest recipe using banana and oats and make them COOKIES!” And the internet obliged, giving me this. I’m going to post it down below, though, because I made a few changes to it. These cookies are like little banana bread pieces, but not quite. I kind of love them, and they’re so easy to make and to consume, I think these will be my new banana bread until I get sick of them and find a new way to use decomposing bananas.

Banana Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from Allrecipes.com)

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup butter, room temp.
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves (or less – the more you add, the more it’ll take away from the banana flavor, which as you know, makes me MAD)
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (I used mini. It was a good decision.)
  1. Preheat oven to 375. Line some baking sheets with parchment paper (I used 4 sheets).
  2. Cream together butter and sugar in an electric mixer til smooth. Add in eggs and vanilla, mixing thoroughly.
  3. Sift together the flour, baking soda, cloves, cinnamons, and salt. Slowly mix into the wet ingredients.
  4. Stir in the oats, then then the chocolate chips.
  5. Plop by the spoonful (I used a regular ol’ teaspoon) on to baking sheets, keeping in mind that these guys spread pretty good. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let them sit on the baking sheet for a minute or so, then transfer to wire rack.
  6. Shove into mouth and be glad that I exposed you to this recipe.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

